There is a single degree for doctoral studies in economics or in management, PhD in Economics and Management. HEC designs, implements and delivers the program along two different tracks: management and economics.

Indeed, all the decisions regarding admissions, credit validations, annual deliberation, etc. are taken together within a joint Doctoral Commission in Economics and Management, chaired by the Director of Research with the support of two vice-presidents (one for each track).

In both tracks, the doctoral training program (60 ECTS) is intended as preparation to the research process and a necessary first step towards the writing of a high quality doctoral dissertation. It enables doctoral students to acquire “high-level professional and scientific knowledge” in order to be specialized in their subject matter, to carry out their research work successfully and to develop their future employability.

In addition to the compulsory courses, students propose their own customized program in their field of specialization and according to their subject. The Doctoral Program Committee and the supervisors check the consistency of the doctoral program. They analyze the quality of the research and the international scientific reputation of the course providers. Based on the progress made in preceding years, a personalized schedule is drawn up at the start of each academic year, co-signed by the PhD student and his/her supervisor, in agreement with the Doctoral Program Committee.

Doctoral School

The Thematic Doctoral School in Management is organized jointly by HEC Liège (ULiège)Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management (ULB) and Warocqué faculty (UMons).

The doctoral training program in Management is structured in 4 parts:

  • A common core of 20 ECTS is intended to ensure a uniform basis of skills and allows doctoral candidates to network
  • A specialization program worth 15 ECTS, composed of advanced classes and thematic workshops closely connected with the subject of the doctoral thesis and thus with the main research themes found in the School
  • Workshops, writing and presentation activities, totaling 20 ECTS, must be progressively accumulated before the private defense.
  • Activities of academic development for 5 ECTS


efmd_logo.jpg              LOGO_HEC_LIEGE_MANAGEMENT_SCHOOL-transparent_2.png            logo solvay.jpg                 faculté warocque logo.jpg


The Thematic Doctoral School in Economics

The Thematic Doctoral School in Economics is a partnership between the 3 Academies of the “Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles”:  the Wallonie Europe Academy (ULiège), the Louvain Academy (consisting of the UCL, the FUNDP, the FUCaM and the FUSL) and the Wallonie Bruxelles Academy (ULB).

The program structure is basically the same but slightly adapted to the smaller number of students.

The training program in Economics consists of five doctoral level courses of 5 ECTS. Two courses must be in microeconomics, macroeconomics or econometrics. The other three courses (15 ECTS) may be much more specifically related to the research field of the doctoral student.

LogoAcademie wallonie europe_0.jpg                  logo_Academie_Louvain_0.jpg                   académie wallonie bruxelles logo.jpg  



If you wish to enquire about the opportunities of becoming a PhD student or researcher at HEC Liège, please contact a professor at HEC Liège, who is specialized in the area you are interested in (see the list of Research Centers and Faculty members). Prior to submitting your candidacy to the Ph.D. program, you will need to obtain a letter of agreement from a professor who approves your research project and who accepts to act as your supervisor.

Access to the PhD in Management and Economics is reserved for holders of a Master’s degree (120 ECTS) in Management or Economics, or any other equivalent degree (Belgian or international) that was awarded with "Honors" after a 5-year program (300 ECTS).

In order to be admitted, candidates must submit an application file for assessment by the Doctoral Committee. This consists of professors involved in the program. The Committee will examine the admissibility of your submission and will grant or deny permission to register.

The conditions for admission and registration to a PhD program:


For further information please contact  


The PhD student’s academic path

The PhD student’s academic path consists of 2 stages:

  • The PhD student must complete the doctoral training successfully (60 ECTS)
  • Next, candidates must conduct a personal research project for a minimum of 2 years. They are followed up by their doctoral dissertation supervisor on a regular basis and - at least once a year- they present the results of their research to a Doctoral Dissertation Committee, established at the beginning of the doctoral course. The dissertation can be a monograph or a series of scientific articles.

The Doctoral Dissertation Committee consists of a minimum of three professors. If this Committee decides the dissertation is ready to be presented, a Doctoral Dissertation Jury is appointed. The latter consists of at least two members from outside the University of Liège.





Thematic Doctoral School of Management

Guadalupe Amésquita
tel +32 4 232 72 67

Thematic Doctoral School of Economics

Joseph Tharakan
tel +32 4 3663121

Last update :22/03/2019